News:

Attention: For security reasons,please choose a user name *different* from your login name.
Also make sure to choose a secure password and change it regularly.

Main Menu

TE0720_L1IF SDK debug fails: 3.. MPCore #1 (DEVICEEN is '0')

Started by timholt, September 10, 2016, 07:29:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timholt

Hi,  I am a software engineer switching from MicroZed and Myir Zynq 7020 boards to use Trenz TE0720 boards for our final design.  We will use TE0720-03-1QF in our final PCB design, but while I am able to load and run with UART output directly into DDR on other boards get a DEVICEEN signal is zero indication on the second core #1.   I am not finding I can load a program into DDR memory space with Xilinx SDK 2016.2 on the TE0720-03-L1IF board combined with TE0701-05 carrier board.    I am able to program SPI flash and boot and run from it.  Just thought I  would post this here in case there is a known issue.  The only place I have found where Device Enable in the APB registers (DEVICEEN) as zero is in a case where somebody had a bad custom PCB.  I am presuming that the ps7_init.tcl has something wrong in it. But do not see how something like having 512Kb DRAM versus 1GB would break things for the second core.
Thanks
Tim

Antti Lukats

Hi

I am curious about the DEVICEEN bit you are mention, you say it is related to bad custom PCB, where this statement is coming? What Xilinx document?

We occasionally see debug issue on different Zynq platforms, but never constantly DEVICEEN as much as I recall.

We do most testing and debug if needed on modules with 1GB DDR installed, but as long you you correct FSBL/TCL for 512K version all must work with less memory too.

timholt