News:

Attention: For security reasons,please choose a user name *different* from your login name.
Also make sure to choose a secure password and change it regularly.

Main Menu

Sata communication

Started by IhebHnaien, February 28, 2020, 04:00:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IhebHnaien

Hi,

I'm working now on a xilinx project. I'm still a beginner and this is my first experience with Ultrascale+ MP.
I am working with TE0808 and I want to develop a Linux application on the Ultrascale MP to send data over the Sata interface. I installed Vivado 2017.4 and Petalinux 2017.4. First I started with designing a vivado project with ZynqUltraScale+ MP. Then I activated a Sata port (SATA Lane 1) and generated the hdf file of this design. Using this hdf file, I created a Petalinux project in oder to get a Linux kernel with enabled Sata support. I followed the hints given on the website of the xilinx wiki : https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/18842339/SATA . Since I am using a hdf file I configured only the Kernel via Menuconfig but I didn't modify the Device tree (It should be automatically generated in system-conf.dts file). After building the Petalinux project, I used the folder: PetalinuxProject/build/tmp/sysroots/plnx_aarch64-tcbootstrap as a rootfs for a new linux xsdk applicaion.

Here I got a little problem. I am not getting any sata support in the included libraries (Sata should be supported with the libata library but I can't find it in the included libraries).

How can I correctly configure the Petalinux kernel in order to get the required software support for the Sata communication on the xsdk interface ?

Thanks in advance  :)

JH

Hi,
at first, please use newer Vivado/Petalinux version. Xilinx has changed a lot of things (new features and a lot of bug fixes) a specially for ZynqMP devices.

We also provide reference designs, with basic setup (in case you use our TEBF0808 carrier) and petalinux template: