News:

Attention: For security reasons,please choose a user name *different* from your login name.
Also make sure to choose a secure password and change it regularly.

Main Menu

zynqberry Ethernet bare metal application

Started by z1990, August 23, 2017, 05:20:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

z1990

Hallo all,
I would like to ask if there is any example illustrating the use of the ethernet interface in a bare metall application on the zynqberry ?

if not what would be the steps to do that ? is that hard thing to do ?

Thanks in Advance !!

Oleksandr Kiyenko

Hello,

Unfortunately we don't have baremetal example with ethernet.
In any case implementation of such project will be complicated, as you need to implement USB stack for Zynq, USB driver for LAN9514 chip and finally network stack.

Best regards
Oleksandr Kiyenko

z1990

Oh! thank you for your answer, that was bad news for me  :(
I have a master AXI in my PL side who writes direktly to the memory in a size of about 200MB!
now can I let the Petalinux to just exclude this memory domain from writing on/use with the ability to read the saved values in them ?

Thanks again !

Oleksandr Kiyenko

Hello,

Yes, you can easily configure petalinux to use only part of memory and use high part of memory for your data buffer.
With simple linux application you can map this buffer read data and send it to ethernet.

Best regards
Oleksandr Kiyenko

z1990

Thank you very much, can I ask you from where can I begin to configure it ?   only a point to begin with...

Oleksandr Kiyenko

Hello,

First step is to reduce Linux memory in petalinux-config
-*- Subsystem AUTO Hardware Settings  ---> Memory Settings  ---> System memory size
by size of your buffer

Best regards
Oleksandr Kiyenko

z1990