News:

Attention: For security reasons,please choose a user name *different* from your login name.
Also make sure to choose a secure password and change it regularly.

Main Menu

Linux TE0726-2 not booting

Started by andersenbond, February 14, 2019, 10:59:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

andersenbond

Hi,
So I'm new with the TE0726-2 board and I'm having some issues running Linux on the board. I've tried both Petaliux 2017.4 and 2018.2 and got the same result that the kernel never starts. Everytime I tried the last output I get is the "Starting Kernel" from U-boot and nothing happens after that.

Basically I created the .hdf file with the script provided by Trenz in the Test_board example, used it as input in petalinux and after getting the image and everything I created the BOOT.bin and burned it in the flash memory copy the .dtb and the kernel to the SD but the kernel never gets to print anything. Id appreciate if you guys have any suggestion in how to fix this problem.

Kind regards,
Ailton Lopes

JH

Hi,
can you try out one time the prebuilt boot.bin and image.ub, please.

If I understand you correctly, you did not use  image.ub container with all included. You has separated device tree, kernel, rootfs, correct? Did you configure petalinux(and uboot) for this setup?

br
John

andersenbond

Hi John,
Thank you for the quick reply, so I followed this tutorial here ( https://www.digikey.com/eewiki/display/Motley/Getting+Started+with+the+ZynqBerry#GettingStartedwiththeZynqBerry-Linux )  to create the image with petalinux, and the result was a directory containing the kernel, device tree and the rootfs.

There are additional configurations needed?
Ill try the prebuilt image now and let you know the outcome.
Regards,
Ailton Lopes

JH

Hi,

I don't know this tutorial, so I can't tell you if something is missing on it.  Sorry.