News:

Attention: For security reasons,please choose a user name *different* from your login name.
Also make sure to choose a secure password and change it regularly.

Main Menu

TE0720 Boot from QSPI

Started by nturner, January 24, 2019, 02:54:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nturner

I'm pretty new to the Xilinx tool chain so this might be a simple request, but I don't seem able to correctly program my TE0720 to boot Linux from QSPI with no SD card. I followed UG1144 and UG980 for setup. I exported the HDF from the Trenz test_board reference design for the Petalinux setup. Then I tried to program the device as described in this forum post|. Instead of getting the u-boot prompt as seen in the forum I am simply unable to connect to the device over serial.

If I follow the standard SD card boot tutorial from Trenz I can boot successfully. However I'd like to run the device on a custom host board without an SD card slot.

The TE0720 is connected via a TE0701 host board. I'm using Xilinx 2016.4 tools on Ubuntu 16.04. I also have the tool chain configured on a Windows 10 computer if that's easier.

JH

Hi,
when you try to boot from QSPI, you removed the SD, correct? TE0701 selects boot mode automatically, depending on SD detect.

Can you show me the *.bif, which you used to generate your boot.bin?
Which FSBL and uboot did you used? The prebuilt ones, which boots from SD? If not can you try out with these files?

br
John

PS: if you start new project, you should switch to a newer version of vivado. We have reference designs for vivado 2018.2 available.

nturner

John,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to read my post. I appreciate it.
Yes, I remove the SD card before trying to boot from QSPI.

The *.bif file is as follows:
the_ROM_image:
{
[bootloader] /tmp/tmp.BsrenFB6M1/zynq_fsbl.elf
/tmp/tmp.BsrenFB6M1/u-boot.elf
[, load=0x520000, partition_owner=uboot] /tmp/tmp.BsrenFB6M1/image.ub
}